Skip to main content

Art History

This is a general guide to resources for art history research.

About this Guide

 


Welcome to my art history research guide

Here you will find resources to help you with your art history research. Use the side navigation to find:

You can book and appointment with me by using the "Schedule Appointment" button in my profile box on the left.

 

Florine Stettheimer, Man, The Cathedrals of Art, 1942. Oil on canvas. Metropolitan Museum of Art. http://metmuseum.org.

Tips for Beginning your Research

Beginning your Research

If you don't know where to start, or even if you do, it's always a good idea to read some background resources on the topic you wish to write about. Not only can they help you get a broad overview of your topic, but because they often include a bibliography of key resources on the topic to help you build your argument. Resources like Oxford Art Online, and the Metropolitan Museum's Heilbrunn Timeline of the History of Art are excellent sources to consult when because their articles offer encyclopedic, but benefit from the fact that they are written by scholars in the field.

 

A Note on Wikipedia

Another great resources to keep in mind is Wikipedia. While you can't cite Wikipedia because articles on the platform can edited by anyone and the content always in flux, the quality of Wikipedia articles is comparable to that of many scholarly encyclopedias. Furthermore, Wikipedia provides useful citations and external links that you can cite! Finally, because Wikipedia articles can be edited instantly, you are more likely to find information on research conducted in the last year than you would find in a scholarly encyclopedia that requires a lengthy peer review process to be published.

Museum Collection Databases

Another place to find information about the object your researching are museum collections databases. For many objects they may be the only place that references your particular object. Mining museum databases for information about object's creator, period of creation, and related contextual information can be a great first step to finding keywords to use in your searching. Occasionally these databases even provide further reading.

fragment of a woman's face (sculptural fragment)

 

Keywords Derived from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Collections Database:

https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/544514

Fragment of a Queen's Face, ca. 1353 - 36 B.C. Yellow jasper. Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Artist/Creator: Unknown
Movement/Style/Period: New Kingdom, Amarna Period

Location/Region:Egypt
Technique: Sculpture
Culture/Religion/Reign: Rein of Akhenaten

 

 

General Reference Resources for Art History

Background resources in art history