Skip to main content

BC3312: Curating Architecture and Environment

Architecture & Urban Studies Databases

Architecture and Urban Studies Databases

Further Reading

For a more complete list of electronic databases for women's and gender studies, check Columbia's Databases: Arts, Architecture and Applied Arts list.

If you have a particular journal that you want to access electronically, enter the title in CLIO. In the "Limit To" box below the "Search" field, select "All Electronic Resources," then click the search button. If we have an online subscription or database access, one or more links will be provided in the record.

Environmental Science Databases

  • Animal Behavior Abstracts
    Provides access to the literature on animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.  
  • Biological Abstracts
    Provides access to the scholarly literature in biology and the life sciences.
  • Biological and Agricultural Index
    Index for articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including areas such as botany, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science and zoology.
  • BioOne
    Full text articles from research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • Environment Abstracts
    Full-text news, journals, and reference materials, as well as federal and state codes and federal agency regulations.
  • Environment Complete
    Includes journals, conference papers and special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
  • Scopus
    Indexing, abstracting and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
  • SpringerLink
    Full-text access to journals and books published by Springer. Subjects include life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering and economics.
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and technical reports on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
  • Web of Science
    Scholarly articles in all disciplines, useful for finding the most highly-cited articles, for examining the references in an article, or for determining if any articles have cited a specific article or book.

Using Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

About Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

(Scope: Nineteenth century to present with some citations as old as 1741)

Avery Index is the most comprehensive databases for finding articles in the field of architecture. It is maintained by our own Avery Library, one of the largest architecture libraries in the world. Other topics covered by Avery index include archaeology, landscape architecture, interior design, decorative arts, garden history, historic preservation, urban planning and design, real estate development and environmental studies. Because this databases is so comprehensive, it is your best bet when conducting research in architecture and adjacent fields.

For more information:

Searching in Avery Index

You can access Avery Index through two different vendors - each have their strengths and weaknesses. 

Ebsco

  • Advantage: Avery Library call numbers can be found at the bottom of the record 
  • Disadvantage: You must put each search term in a separate search box

Proquest

  • Advantage: You can put multiple search terms in a single search box
  • Advantage: The database updates more frequently than Ebsco
  • Disadvantage: Avery Library call numbers are not included in the record

When searching both databases you may notice that one or the other returns more results. This is due to the frequency of updating on the part of Proquest and Ebsco. They receive the exact same index data, and generally speaking the results should be the same.
 

Keyword Tips (from Avery Index FAQ):

  • Use Keyword search or Subject search to find architects or firms
  • Searching for buildings works best in Keyword search as well (particularly for buildings with multiple names )
  • Use the all caps boolean search term "OR" to search for multiple building names at once like TWA OR "Trans World Arline"


Searching Avery Index (Proquest)

Searching in Avery Index through Proquest is fairly straightforward, but there are a few tips and tricks to help you find precisely what you are looking for. You can run a basic search and limit your results in a variety of ways to help you find what you need. The following techniques are applicable to Avery Index in Ebsco - though the interface works a bit differently.

Advanced Search: In advanced search you can search for articles that offer a particular feature (photos, plans, elevations, etc.), as well as limit your search to a certain document type or language. You can enter your keywords into a single search box separated by boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.), or separated to search specific field types (creator, author, subject, etc.) with different keywords.

Screenshot ofadvanced search in Avery Index for Proquest

 

Search Additional Databases: Avery Index is available through Proquest along with many other discipline specific databases. You can add additional databases to your search by selecting "Change Databases" from the landing page. Proquest allows you to select individual databases, or choose a subject area.

Screenshot showing database search for Avery Index in Proquest

 

Search by subject: you can browse databases by name or by subject

Screenshot showing subject search in databases for Avery Index (Proquest)

 

Date: Use the date slider to limit your search results by date of publication.

 

Chronological Sort: Review your search results chronologically to see how scholarship around your topic shifted over time.